top of page
Writer's pictureThe Wyoming Patriot

A Letter to the Liberals

Updated: Jan 27, 2021

I was gonna start this off with “dear liberals”, but then realized that would be nothing but a waste of time. Not only am I sure that the radical leftists won’t read this due to their blindness to facts and logic, but as someone who is proud to not be a liberal, I feel a moral obligation to open with as much honesty and transparency as possible. I’m not writing this for the liberals; I’m writing this for myself, and for those who are in a similar boat as I have found myself in for the past four years. Likely that will be many conservative students who are also full of both angst and anxiety regarding their futures in an education system that has become nothing more than an instrument of liberal indoctrination. It may be conservatives who belong to a different generation than I do, who have seen their children, grandchildren, nieces, and nephews go through something similar. As I said earlier, I’m not a liberal. I don’t know your stories, and I won’t pretend to know your stories by putting words in your mouth. Everyone has stories, and the best that I can do is to share my own, in hopes that others who are in a similar boat will feel compelled to come forward in order to share theirs.


Before I go any farther, I want to begin by stating what my whole point of writing up this piece is: we cannot provide the democrats with the “unity” and complacency that they are asking for. I’m a college student in my early twenties. I couldn’t vote in 2016, but I was actively involved in politics nonetheless, and Donald Trump was the clear choice to me back then. I have actively supported Donald Trump since he announced his candidacy in 2015, and my support has never wavered; however, I have never openly stated my views at school. I grew up in a very wealthy liberal area in a blue state, and I was always warned by both my parents and members of my extended family to keep my head down and my mouth shut, especially as I began preparing to go to college. I was always a good student and citizen; I worked hard, volunteered, tutored. I graduated high school near the top of my class, and in excellent standing with my teachers, peers, and with my high school’s administration. I had many liberal friends at the time, and I never let politics interfere. I always knew their views, but very few of my liberal friends knew mine. I was, on the surface, effectively “politically neutral”.


I was able to maintain this superficial charade until last month. Internally and among my inner circle, I was enraged. I had spent the past four years educating myself on the views of both sides regarding critical issues in order to better understand why the left hates Trump so much. The economy is the strongest it has ever been. Trump is the first president in decades to not start a foreign war. Unemployment rates, on average, have been at an all time low throughout Trump’s presidency. As I watched BLM and Antifa ravage and annihilate cities, dissenters, and priceless statues of American heroes (Abe Lincoln, of all people! Not like he is the one who ended slavery or anything...) all summer long, I realized that the left’s hatred has nothing to do with Trump being a “racist” (after all, their own Presidential nominee voted for segregation and referred to Black Americans as “super predators”, among other things). It has everything to do with the fact that Trump isn’t one of them. He doesn’t work for the media. He doesn’t work for the establishment. He works for the American people. My anger at the utter hypocrisy that was being falsely spewed by the maw of the left is what led to the birth of this account. My friend and I both needed an outlet to vent, and to connect with other conservatives who felt like us. That temporarily satiated my desire to feel like I had a voice. It wasn’t until mid-October that I personally snapped. When Trump contracted COVID-19, rather than wishing for his quick recovery, nearly every liberal that I had added on social media began posting images with captions along the lines of “I hope he dies”. At that point, I did something that I never could have fathomed myself doing. I committed the ultimate act of social suicide: I posted in defense of the President on my personal account. I lost over 100 followers overnight, and received many spiteful comments. One girl told me that I was a “waste of an education”, and that my “place in school should have gone to an underprivileged kid”. Another, who I had personally tutored throughout high school, told me that my “GPA, AP scores, ACT scores, and scholarships are worthless” because I “cheated” my way through high school, “just like” my President. Liberal “friends” of mine were shocked; one went so far as to tell me that I really should look into taking medications, as there was clearly something wrong with my brain that was causing me to think and behave this way. I had received much negativity, but I also received a swarm of positive responses from people I went to school with, mostly along the lines of thanking me for having the guts to finally speak up.


However, as time went on, the messages I have received since the election have become increasingly hostile. I have been called a “genocidal eugenicist” by someone who has known me since they were born, and who I once called my best friend. Another told me that I should no longer be allowed to call myself a woman. I was told I belong in a re-education center. It was all just name calling at first, but before long I began to worry about the safety of both myself and my family, as the hatred and threats soon began to escalate in intensity and severity. At my college, my name was now effectively on a hit list. A fellow student had screenshotted and posted the names and profile pictures of the active members of my college’s “Students for Trump” organization in an attempt to “hold the Trump supporters accountable” by promoting our social ostracization. I was threatened by people I went to high school with, being told I was “no longer welcome” in my hometown. All of these events led to this past weekend, where I was “doxxed” as a result of my attendance at a local Trump rally. Someone from my high school sent my phone number and address out to a militant group of liberals from my town. I received threats that contained my address in them. I was told that I was going to be beat unconscious. I was told I was going to be raped. I was told that they would come for my family, and my dog. The morning after the doxxing, I went to another local Trump rally, but this time I didn’t post from it; however, I found little consolation at the rally. All of the rallies that I had attended had been peaceful; at this rally, however, I was almost a witness to a mass shooting. A man driving by had temporarily stopped his car to yell profanities at us Trump supporters before cocking his loaded handgun in what was supposed to be a hit and run. Thankfully, a heroic patriot had the guts to reach into the car to punch the would-be shooter in order to buy some time for the nearby cops to run over to make an arrest, but for me, the damage was already done. Being within fifteen feet and within a clear line of sight of a loaded handgun that was targeting me and my friends was a confirmatory wake-up call for me, and in that moment, I realized the severity of the predicament that our society is in. I understood exactly why this is a battle we cannot afford to lose. The political climate of our current society is one where it is more socially acceptable to threaten to rape a girl in front of her family for being a patriot than it is to stand on a street corner waving an American flag. Let that sink in for a moment, folks. I love my country, and I love my fellow patriots, but for the first time in my life, I am utterly ashamed to be an American. We are a society of hedonism and vices, of hypocrisy and deception. If a Trump supporter did a tenth of what the members of the left have done to us over the past four years, it would be all over the news. If that man with the gun had actually pulled the trigger at the Trump rally I was at over the weekend, the casualties would have been celebrated by the left, and the media would spin it into an act of “self defense”. They would probably rise in defense of the man behind bars, and there would be protests in defense of him, much like there were protests for the criminal George Floyd. I don’t want to live in a country like that, and I don’t want my future children growing up in a country like that. The time to act is now; we cannot be complacent, and we cannot stand by anymore as we wait for the less-than-useless GOP to step in and save us. There is no more “last frontier” between us and the far left. It is us, the American people, vs. the far left. The flames have been fanned, and it is time we step up to fight in the battle for our freedoms.



144 views1 comment

1 Comment


Sam Sloughe
Sam Sloughe
Dec 01, 2020

Thank you for standing up and speaking out. Us patriots have your backs!

Like
bottom of page